This I Believe

Recently for one of my education classes (only THREE DAYS until I start student-teaching!!!!!) I had to compose a “This I Believe” statement to put in my Classroom Management portfolio.  This blog, like me, is probably going to go through some changes in the next year, one of which being I plan to post a lot more about education, including but not limited to my views and values, lesson plan ideas, successes and failures, and experiences I have my first year teaching.

Of course I will still post about writing and reading fiction, and other miscellaneous topics, as I always have.  I just wanted to give a heads-up for what is to come very, very soon.  I also wanted to post this image:

I'M GOING TO BE A TEACHER THIS FALL I AM SO EXCITED THIS IS THE BEST YEAR OF MY LIFE!!!

I CAN’T KEEP CALM I’M GOING TO BE A TEACHER THIS FALL I AM SO EXCITED THIS IS THE BEST YEAR OF MY LIFE!!!  😀

With that being said, here is my “This I Believe” statement:

This I Believe

I believe that every person is of infinite value. People differ in shapes, sizes, family relationships, language, religion, sexual orientation, physical appearance, food preferences… but through the innumerable differences, the is one thing that is the same about every one of us is that we are all important. As a teacher, I want to help my students understand this and treat others with the respect that they deserve. I cannot teach my students everything about every culture, but I can teach them how to love learning, and to have a desire to understand people who are different from them, rather than make assumptions.

Hand-in-hand with this idea comes my second strong belief: that students should be confident in their abilities and in communicating with their peers as well as society. In my class I hope to create an environment where it is safe to make mistakes, because mistakes mean we are trying and we can work to get better. Students should learn to enjoy the learning process and not be frustrated when things do not go easily for them, and also to be encouraging to their peers when they see them struggling with something, instead of trying to surpass them or wondering why they are unable to keep up. The music classroom should be a safe haven for performers; I want my students to learn to perform in front of each other in groups and individually, because I believe being comfortable in such settings will help them long-term with expressing themselves and communicating their beliefs respectfully to the world. Too much communication today is done from behind a screen. I want my students to experience true interaction, with music as well as with other people, and through this I hope that they will see the value in others as well as themselves.

Sincerely yours,

Torrence, Future Music Teacher

One thought on “This I Believe

Whaddaya think?

