Eeny meeny miny moe…

I’M HALFWAY DONE WITH COLLEGE!!!

tumblr_maxjz8SRwZ1roagn4

Sorry.  I’m just really excited.  Especially since I finally finished moving back into my room and got it all organized how I like it.  During this one and a half day process (yes, it really did take me that long… I have way too much stuff) I came across some old high school stuff, and I found a poem I wrote ages and ages ago for one of my friends.  She had asked me to write a poem about something that has to do with nature, I think.  Or maybe it was supposed to be about one of the elements… I don’t remember exactly.  Either way, this is what I wrote:

Raindrop

Falling

Falling fast

Falling faster

Faster downward

Downward, downward,

And then I hit the ground

With a splash!

Well, I thought it needed a little tweaking.  So I came up with this:

Raindrop

falling!

Falling fast,

falling faster!

Faster downward,

downward, downward,

and then I hit the ground

with a splash!

But now I’m not sure about which one I like better.  I think that I might like the first because putting another exclamation point in the middle seems to throw off the momentum of the poem.  I feel like the “exclaimed” part should just be the splashing at the end.  But I also like capitalizing less letters.  Maybe I can combine the two options, like so:

Raindrop

falling

falling fast

falling faster

faster downward,

downward, downward,

and then I hit the ground

with a splash!

So.  Which do you prefer, and why?

Splashingly yours,

Torrence Nightingale

"Tut tut, it looks like rain..."

“Tut tut, it looks like rain…”

One thought on “Eeny meeny miny moe…

Whaddaya think?

